Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Latest version has ads/malware?
Ok, so I've been using Cent Browser for a few years now, quite happy with it.
Got a little notification in the lower right the other day that the version has been updated. Nice.
So I close and re-open Cent and up comes my standard homepage (www.google.com) and I start to search for something when several pop-ups show up saying my McAfee subscription is out of date (I don't use McAfee) and I have viruses, etc, and to click here to renew.

Concerned for several reasons, not least of which is I don't visit any sort of sites that might offer a vector for infection. Nor do I use pirated software. 
Immediately, I close Cent, and do a Windows Defender scan, which says "clean", so I run a Malwarebytes scan. It too is clean. Ditto HitmanPro, and several other stand-alone virus scanners. All say my system is clean.

Figuring that possibly Google's homepage somehow got hijacked, I start looking through my task manager and Services for anything out of the ordinary.
Nothing seems unusual, but just this morning I open Cent to my home page, and just let it sit on my Secondary monitor, doing nothing.

After a minute or so of being idle, I get several pop-ups on my main monitor saying my Norton is out of date (I don't use Norton  either) and the little window that has this "ad" has an even smaller chrome-like icon in the upper left, along with a gear wheel for "options"
Under "options" is an option to ignore ads from that site (some random URL.xyz)

The .xyz rings a bell to me, there's a malware infection for "search.xyz"
https://malwaretips.com/blogs/remove-search-xyz/

So I follow that, but again, my system is clean.